Avicus Archive

Where our values at? by Arachadonic September 11, 2014 at 5:09 PM UTC

Recently I have noticed, along with the trend of the "dying" posts, people keep posting explaining that the reason or one of the reasons they think that Avicus is dying is due to it's playerbase (or apparent lack of). 

Their main points in general seem to be that McZone had way more players on than us and the players are all abandoning the server slowly hence the lowered player rate in the past few weeks. This does not mean avicus is dying.

It is only natural that once school starts, the player rate will indeed take a dip as you will see across all servers so this can account for the sudden dip. However the real question here is why does it matter that we have less players than McZone?

When did we all become so fixated on having the most players and getting caught up in numbers and figures?
I have been playing MINECRAFT for roughly 3/4 years now and it saddens me that today's minecraft communities seem purely statistically and numerically driven. What happend with the idea of simply playing games for fun and joining a community not to boost it's ranks but to make friends and meet new people? 

I am to this day, a part of a community that has been around since Classic Minecraft and recently celebrated it's 5th year running. 5 years!! They must be doing something right to be running for 5 years with no perks (not even a rank) for donating. Would you like to know what that is?